DSF Annual Gala 2019 Raises Over $1 Million

Dear friend,

On Wednesday, October 25, at the Denver Scholarship Foundation (DSF) Annual Gala 2019, nearly 800 DSF Alumni, supporters, partners, staff, and board members came together to celebrate the achievements of our DSF Scholars – and what a special night it was!

DSF Scholar Lazarus West and younger brother Lawrence shared their story of friendship, perseverance, and success on their journeys to and through college. Thanks to their bond with one another, family, and a close circle of supporters, including DSF College Advisor, Zulema Sierra, the West brothers are not only achieving their goals in the classroom – but most importantly – in life. Watch their short documentary by Emmy-award winning filmmaker Davis Coombe here.

Keynote speaker Geoffrey Canada, founder of Harlem Children’s Zone, moved us with his remarks on the transformative impact of communities like ours coming together to support their students. Thank you, Mr. Canada, for sharing your inspiring message with us!

With immense gratitude for your incredible generosity, we are still reliving the magic of DSF’s Annual Gala 2019. We invited our community to invest in the future of our DSF Scholars, and the response was overwhelming!

The final numbers are in. With heartfelt thanks to our community and each of you who joined us, we are excited to share that we raised over $1 million, with an added exclamation point of generosity from the matching gift provided by the Colorado Opportunity Scholarship Initiative (COSI). Every dollar contributed through DSF’s Annual Gala 2019 helps make college possible for Denver’s students.

DSF is grateful to our generous Annual Gala 2019 sponsors. Additionally, we would like to extend a special thank you to

  • Mayor Michael B. Hancock;
  • Denver Public Schools (DPS) Superintendent Susana Cordova;
  • Our devoted event committee led by co-chairs, Michelle and John Hanley, and Heidi and Bruce Hoyt; and
  • The DSF Board of Directors, led by board chair Bob Deibel.

View and share photos of the event by visiting our event album.

On behalf of the board and staff of DSF, thank you for making college possible for thousands of students each year.

We hope to see you at DSF’s Annual Gala on October 8, 2020!


Lorii Rabinowitz 

Chief Executive Officer
Denver Scholarship Foundation 

Thank you to our DSF Annual Gala 2019 Committee Members

Honorary Chairs

Governor Jared Polis
U.S. Senator Michael Bennet and Ms. Susan Daggett
U.S. Senator Cory Gardner and Mrs. Jaime Gardner
Representative Diana DeGette and Mr. Lino Lipinsky
Mayor Michael B. Hancock and Mrs. Mary Louise Lee
Denver Public Schools Superintendent Susana Cordova and Mr. Eric Duran

Committee Co-Chairs

Michelle and John Hanley
Heidi and Bruce Hoyt

Committee Members

Seth Belzley
Linda Bowman, Ph.D.
Lindsay and Bob Deibel
Zoey DeWolf
Barry Dorfman
Bret Duvall
Cathey and Dick Finlon
Jayne Ford
Blake Fulenwider
Peter Hoselton
Michael Kelly
Dean Koelbel
Evi and Evan Makovsky
Scott Nycum
Mike Pardun
Rich Schierburg
Don Silversmith
Vanessa VandeBurgt

Thank you to our Annual Gala 2019 sponsors

Presenting Sponsor


Future Sponsors — $50,000


Scholar Sponsors — $25,000

Britney and Richard Weil

Jonathan and Aimee Coleman

Access Sponsors — $15,000

Dana and Barry Dorfman

Roger and Linda Bowman Charitable Fund

Scott and Jody Nycum

Impact Sponsors — $10,000

AMG National Trust Bank

Cathey and Richard Finlon

Colorado School of Mines

Councilwoman Kendra Black and Eric Black

David Scanavino, M.D.

Davis Graham & Stubbs

Maffei Foundation

MDC/Richmond American Homes Foundation

Morgan Stanley Private Wealth Management

NAI Shames Makovsky Realty/Evi and Evan Makovsky and Jerry Glick and Shannon Gifford

OfficeScapes Group

Rich Schierburg / Peregrine Group Development

Robin and John Hickenlooper

The Madison Group and Steven M. Woodward

University of Colorado Boulder

University of Denver

Pathway Sponsors — $5,000

Alpine Bank

Ball Foundation


Bellco Credit Union

Bow River Capital Partners

Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

BuildStrong Education

Colorado Health Foundation

Colorado State University

Delta Dental of Colorado

Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce and Denver Metro Chamber Leadership Foundation

Erin & Andy Miller and Copley Equity Partners

Extraction Oil & Gas Inc.


Gyan-i Inc.

Heidi and Bruce Hoyt

Irma Lockridge | CoorsTek

Jayne Ford

John and Michelle Hanley

JPMorgan Chase

Katie MacWilliams

L C Fulenwider Inc.

Liberty Global, Inc.

Merrill Aspin and Mark Fallon

Metropolitan State University of Denver


Plante Moran

Ready Foods

Robinson Waters & O’Dorisio, P.C.

Therese Ivancovich and Greg Sissel

Tom Wattles

U.S. Bank

University of Colorado Denver

Vectra Bank Colorado

Opportunity Sponsors — $3,000

ACM High Point VI LLC

Ash and Melinda Alankar

Colorado Community College System

Dependable Cleaners

Embrey Partners

First Western Trust Bank

Julanna Gilbert, Ph.D. and Robert D. Coombe, Ph.D.

Koelbel Family Foundation

Martha Wofford and John Knight

McGeady Becher P.C.

Rachel Brady and Thomas F. Brady, Ph.D.

Steven and Elizabeth Kris

Stewart Miller

Media Sponsor